Bar Council – Chairperson: PRISCILLA BALGOBIN-BHOYRUL
Secretary: BISHAN RAMDENEE - Treasurer: A. V. CAROLYN DESVAUX DE MARIGNY
Members: HARRY BANSROPUN, ROOBESH S. RAMANJOOLOO, NATASHA BEHARY PARAY & NIKHIL BOOLELL
Co-Opted Members: NAVINA PARSURAMEN, JEAN MICHEL AH SEN & YATIN VARMA

13th October 2023

Dear Members,

## Communiqué: Rectification of media reports on ventilation measures at the New Court House

Following certain media reports that barristers have been exempted from wearing the gown at the New Court House, the Bar Council reiterates that the exemption only applies to the wearing of jackets and vests as specified in its communiqué of 10<sup>th</sup> October 2023. Barristers are still required to wear the gown.

The Council kindly requests members to rely solely on information provided by the Council in relation to barristers and not on media reports.

As always, the Council remains available for any clarification on this and any other matter concerning members.

Yours sincerely,

Bishan Ramdenee Secretary of the Bar Council