Bar Council – Chairperson: PRISCILLA BALGOBIN-BHOYRUL
Secretary: BISHAN RAMDENEE - Treasurer: A. V. CAROLYN DESVAUX DE MARIGNY
Members: HARRY BANSROPUN, ROOBESH S. RAMANJOOLOO, NATASHA BEHARY PARAY & NIKHIL BOOLELL
Co-Opted Members: NAVINA PARSURAMEN, JEAN MICHEL AH SEN & YATIN VARMA

22<sup>nd</sup> March 2023

## MBA Communiqué

Following the Special Meeting held on the 21<sup>st</sup> March 2023 at the seat of the Mauritius Bar Association (the 'Association'), the Bar Council

## DECLARES THAT:

- it strongly and unreservedly condemns the outrageous, gratuitous and unsubstantiated attacks which the legal profession and some of the institutions within our justice system have been subjected to as of late;
- barristers should be allowed to perform their duties freely, independently and without fear of reprisals, intimidation, pressure and harassment;
- together with the members of the Association, it stands united against these attempts calculated to undermine the Rule of Law, the independence of the Bar and to intimidate or silence members of the Association in the discharge of their functions;
- in its efforts to uphold the Rule of Law and restore serenity amidst the prevailing tensions, it will furthermore enlist the support of the President of the Republic and the Chief Justice in the exercise of their Constitutional functions;

REMINDS members of the Association that, in the exercise of their duties, they are to serve the interests of justice and maintain trust in the administration of justice and its various organs and that they should therefore act accordingly under all circumstances;

EXTENDS its support and shares in the indignation of members of the Association who have been the target of vile and unfounded attacks, and stands in solidarity with them.

Bishan Ramdenee Secretary of the Bar Council