MAURITIUS BAR ASSOCIATION



Chairperson: Yatin Varma

Secretary: Mayuri D. Bunwaree Ramlackhan Treasurer: Rubna B. Daood Daureeawo Members: Poornimah D. Sookun-Teeluckdharry, Yashley Reesaul, M.Hisham Ahmed Oozeer & Anekha Punchoo Co-opted Members: Dinay Reetoo & Damodarsingh Bissessur

13th July 2021

COMMUNIQUE: Compliance with sections 19 and 20 of the Law Practitioners Act

Dear friends,

The Bar Council wishes to draw your kind attention to the following:

- (i) Pursuant to **section 19 of the Law Practitioners Act**, the Master & Registrar has requested for a list of names and addresses of persons employed by every barrister and the capacity in which those persons are employed. You are, therefore, requested to send to the Council by **Friday 16th July 2021** the list of names and addresses of persons employed by you and the capacity in which they are employed to be forwarded to the Master & Registrar.
- (ii) The Bar Council has also been requested to send a list of **compliant members** of the Mauritius Bar Association to the Master & Registrar for publication of the list of practicing Barristers in the Government Gazette in compliance with **section 20 of the Law Practitioners Act**. This is, therefore, a **FINAL REMINDER** that members who have not settled their MBA membership fees by **Friday 16th July, 2021** will not appear on the list of practicing Barristers that will be published by the Master & Registrar.

Yours faithfully,

Mayuri D. Bunwaree-Ramlackhan Secretary of the Bar Council