MAURITIUS BAR ASSOCIATION



Secretary: Mayuri D. Bunwaree Ramlackhan Treasurer: Rubna B. Daood Daureeawo Members: Poornimah D. Sookun-Teeluckdharry, M.Hisham Ahmed Oozeer, Yashley Reesaul & Anekha Punchoo Co-opted Member: Dinay Reetoo & Damodarsingh Bissessur

Dear Colleagues,

- 1. The following sub-committees have been set up to assist the Council:
- (a) The Ethics Committee
- (b) The Young Bar Committee and
- (c) The Corporate Barristers Committee.
- 2. In addition, following a meeting with the Commissioner of Police, Mr. K. Servansingh on 02 February 2021, a joint committee of the Bar Council and the Police Force has been set up with the following composition:

Representatives of the Bar Council:

- (a) Yatin Varma
- (b) Rubna Dawreeawo
- (c) Mayuri Bunwaree
- (d) Hisham Oozeer
- (e) Yashley Reesaul

Representatives of the Police Force:

- (a) Mr Budhoo ACP
- (b) Mr Madhoo ACP
- (c) Mr Ramgoolam (ADSU)
- (d) Mr Lalljee (PPO)

This joint committee will hold regular meetings to improve relations between the Bar and the Police. Any complaints Barristers might have against the Police, in the exercise of their functions, can be reported to the Council which will in turn take up the matter with the Committee and report back.

Mayuri D. Bunwaree- Ramlackhan Secretary of the Bar Council 04th February 2021